Panoramic Tour

Der neue Riesensaal (The new Hall of the Giants)

The Riesensaal is true to its name in more than one way: Its designation originally derives from the painted depictions of giants on the walls, but the pillar-free space was also giant in itself, measuring 741 square metres, and was used for courtly celebrations, masquerade balls and weddings. However, when August the Strong died in 1733, the Dresden Residenzschloss (Royal Palace) lost this space because his son, August III (1696–1763) subdivided it into smaller rooms, including a chapel for his wife, Maria Josepha of Austria. 

  • Opening Hours daily 10—18 o'clock, Tuesday closed
  • Admission Fees normal 12 €, reduced 9 €, under 17 free, Groups (10 persons and more) 11 €, Audioguide free
Buy a Ticket

280 years after it was lost, the Riesensaal reopened in 2013, resplendent in its original dimensions, yet with completely modern interior architecture. It now serves to present almost 350 objects from the fifteenth to the seventeenth centuries: suits of armour that covered the bodies of horses and riders, valuable lances, swords and other parade weaponry. Through the windows, visitors see the palace square, where men once fought wearing several kilograms of steel: The din must have been deafening.

Privacy notice

When you play our YouTube or Vimeo videos, information about your use of YouTube or Vimeo is transmitted to the US operator and may be stored.

Originally practiced in preparation for battle, by the end of the fifteenth century tournaments began to play an important role in courtly ceremony and festivity. And the ruling houses fought with style: In their aesthetics, the objects on show in the Riesensaal hardly disclose the purpose they once served. In the place of computer-aided animation, reconstructed fighting scenes take visitors on a visual journey through time. Completing this picture are paintings commissioned by Christian I of Saxony (1560–1591) in honour of his father August, Elector of Saxony (1526–1586), which depict tournaments of that era.

Besucherin betrachtet aufwendig verziertes Schild
© SKD, Foto: David Pinzer
Ausstellungsansicht Riesensaal

weitere

Further Exhibitions
To top

Panoramarundgang Riesensaal

Der neue Riesensaal

Der Riesensaal macht seinem Namen alle Ehre - und dies in gleich mehrfacher Hinsicht: Seine Bezeichnung geht ursprünglich auf die an die Wand gemalten Abbildungen von Riesen zurück, später wurden auf den säulenfreien 741 Quadratmetern höfische Feste und Maskenbälle gefeiert und Hochzeiten ausgerichtet. Doch mit dem Tod August des Starken im Jahr 1733 verlor das Dresdner Residenzschloss diesen Ort, denn sein Sohn, August III. (1696-1763) unterteilte ihn in kleinere Räume inklusive einer Kapelle für seine Frau, Maria Josepha von Österreich. 

  • Öffnungszeiten täglich 10-18 Uhr , Dienstag  geschlossen
  • Eintrittspreise regulär 12 €, ermäßigt 9 €, unter 17 frei, ab 10 Pers. 11 €, Audioguide frei
Ticket kaufen

280 Jahre nach seinem Verschwinden erstrahlt der Riesensaal seit 2013 nun wieder in seinen originalen Maßen jedoch mit gänzlich moderner Innenarchitektur und präsentiert knapp 350 Objekte aus dem 15. bis 17. Jahrhundert: Harnische - Rüstungen, die Körper von Ross und Reiter bedeckten, kostbare Prunkwaffen, Lanzen und Schwerter. Durch die Fenster fällt der Blick in den Großen Schlosshof und damit dorthin, wo einst Mann gegen Mann kämpfte - geschützt von mehreren Kilo Stahl am Körper, welches einen ohrenbetäubenden Lärm erzeugt haben muss. 

Ursprünglich als Vorbereitung auf den kriegerischen Kampf gedacht, spielten Turniere als Bestandteil des Zeremoniells und der Feierlichkeiten am Hof seit Ende des 15. Jahrhunderts eine wichtige Rolle. Dabei kämpften die Herrscherhäuser mit Geschmack - die heute im Riesensaal ausgestellten Objekte lassen angesichts ihrer Ästhetik fast vergessen, wofür sie einst geschaffen wurden. Statt moderner Animationen ermöglichen nachgestellte Kampfszenen im Raum den Besuchern eine visuelle Zeitreise. Das Bild komplettieren Gemälde, die im Auftrag von Christian I. (1560-1591) zu Ehren seines Vaters Kurfürst August von Sachsen (1526-1586) entstanden und Turniere aus der Zeit zeigen.

Besucherin betrachtet aufwendig verziertes Schild
© SKD, Foto: David Pinzer
Ausstellungsansicht Riesensaal

Ausstellungsliste

Weitere Ausstellungen der staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden
Zum Seitenanfang